Antarctica

Dumont d'Urville

For this destination on the white continent, the magic still operates.

The polar station of Dumont d'Urville in Terre Adélie is located 2700 kms south of Tasmania.

5 to 6 days are necessary to cover this distance with the French icebreaker Astrolabe, subject to good weather ...

A little more if things go wrong!

We left Hobart on October 22, 2006 aboard the Astrolabe.

A light breeze was blowing over Tasmania that day, but a few days later I understood what the words "" howling fiftieths "meant ...

Map-Dumont-d'Urville.png
Astrolabe-à-l'approche-du-pack.jpg

“The sea quickly turned white and the anemometer was constantly showing 40 to 50 knots of wind. "

It was only after 5 days of crossing approaching the 60th parallel that we found better weather. And it was the next night that I heard the first chunk of ice hit the Astrolabe's hull. A deafening noise that still echoes in my ears today. When you wake up the ocean turned white, punctuated by growlers, those blocks of ice well known to solo sailors. Then the Astrolabe quickly returned to the pack.

But in these latitudes the weather can change quickly!

Astrolabe-derrière-le-Mertz.jpg

We were stranded for 3 days, the wind was blowing at 75 knots.

Xavier, a captain used to these latitudes, was not worried, the play of the tides would do the job by freeing the ice around the boat, and the Astrolabe would find her way to Adelie Land. But that year, a thick pack ice still extended a hundred kilometers from the coast, preventing us from a better approach. The unloading of the personnel and the material was thus carried out by multiple rotations in helicopter.

Hélicoptère.jpg
helicopteres.jpg
Astrolabe dans la banquise.jpg

DUMONT d'URVILLE polar station in ANTARCTICA

base-dumont-d-urville.jpg

The polar station of Dumont d'Urville represents France well. It is good to live there. We have the impression of being in a small provincial village with its post office and croissants in the morning! And his “Mayor”, Patrice Godon, knows his stuff. He was trained by Paul-Emile Victor in the 1960s. In short, things are going well!

Sunday-Morning.jpg

On our side, our mission is simple: Bring as many images as possible for Oceans, Jacques Perrin's next film.

Antarctica-Penguins-coming-up.jpg
Antarctica-Jumping-out.jpg

Patrice had given us carte blanche to circulate on the ice, while imposing on us a maximum operating radius. We should never endanger the lives of rescuers who would come to help us in the event of a problem. As far as I was concerned, my first security was to take, apart from a change of clothes for each of us, a set of boards thick enough for our quads to be able to pass through an opening that would have formed on the ice floe during of our return to the station. I had learned this technique on Lake Baìkal with Andrey Baranovsky and Genady Misan.

didier-noirot-preparation.jpg

That year the conditions were ideal. The weather was still cold and dry, and the ice was reliable. There were numerous icebergs at Dumont d'Urville around which there was still a swimming pool, an opening to open water created by the reflection of light on their north face. These water holes were always frequented by a multitude of Adelie and Emperor penguins. The diving conditions were "easy" and the only difficulty lay in the current which could have taken us adrift under the ice ...

Wedell seals were most often found on pack ice in the middle of nowhere, where it was impossible for us to poke a hole in a meter thick ice. The only solution was to immerse yourself in an existing fault nearby. This rift opened and closed to the rhythm of the swell and I only had 12 seconds to cross the ice floe before the noose closed on me.

Going-diving.jpg

"I only had 12 seconds to cross the ice floe before the noose closed on me."

Underwater, the spectacle is as fascinating as ever, the ice has taken on the green color of the algae that grows in spring, while the squeaking of the iceberg reminds us that the watch is alive and well. The monster moves and talks to us, it's up to us to decrypt his messages ...

Icebergs.jpg
sous-la-banquise.jpg
iceberg-sabot.jpg

Antarctique

Dumont d'Urville

Pour cette destination en Antarctique, la magie opère toujours.

La station polaire de Dumont d'Urville en Terre Adélie se trouve à 2700 kms au sud de la Tasmanie.

5 à 6 jours sont nécessaires pour parcourir cette distance avec l'Astrolabe, sous réserve de beau temps...

Un peu plus si ça se passe mal !

Nous avons quitté Hobart le 22 Octobre 2006 à bord de l'Astrolabe, le légendaire brise-glace des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises (TAAF)

Une légère brise soufflait ce jour-là sur la Tasmanie, mais quelques jours plus tard, je compris ce que voulaient dire les mots ""cinquantièmes hurlants"... 

« Rapidement la mer est devenue blanche et l'anémomètre indiquait en permanence de 40 à 50 nœuds de vent. »

Ce n’est qu’après 5 jours de traversée à l’approche du 60ème parallèle, que nous avons retrouvé une météo plus clémente.  Et ce fut la nuit suivante que j’entendis le premier morceau de glace taper contre la coque de l'Astrolabe. Un bruit assourdissant qui me résonne encore aujourd’hui dans les oreilles. Au réveil l’océan devenu blanc, ponctué de growlers, ces blocs de glace bien connus des navigateurs en solitaire. Puis l'Astrolabe est rapidement rentré dans le pack.

Mais sous ces latitudes la météo peut changer vite !

Nous sommes restés bloqués 3 jours, le vent soufflait à 75 noeuds. 

Xavier, un capitaine habitué de ces latitudes, n’était pas inquiet, le jeu des marées ferait le boulot en libérant la glace autour du bateau, et l’Astrolabe trouverait son chemin vers la Terre Adélie. Mais cette année-là, une banquise épaisse s’étendait encore à une centaine de kilomètres de la côte, nous interdisant une meilleure approche. Le déchargement du personnel et du matériel s’est donc effectué par de multiples rotations en hélicoptère. 

Station polaire DUMONT d'URVILLE en ANTARCTIQUE

La station polaire de Dumont d’Urville représente bien la France. Il fait bon y vivre. On a l’impression d’être dans un petit village de province avec sa Poste et les croissants le matin ! Et son « Maire », Patrice Godon, connait son affaire. Il a été formé par Paul-Emile Victor dans les années 60. Bref, ça tourne rond ! 

De notre côté notre mission est simple : Ramener le plus d'images possible pour Océans, le prochain film de Jacques Perrin. 

Patrice nous avait donné carte blanche pour circuler sur la glace, tout en nous imposant un rayon maximal d’opération. Nous ne devions en aucun cas mettre en péril la vie de sauveteurs qui seraient venus nous secourir en cas d’un problème. En ce qui me concernait, ma première sécurité était d’emporter, mis à part des vêtements de rechange pour chacun d’entre nous, un jeu de planches suffisamment épaisses pour que nos quads puissent traverser une ouverture qui se serait formée sur la banquise lors de notre retour à la station. J’avais appris cette technique sur le lac Baìkal avec Andrey Baranovsky et Genady Misan.

Cette année-là les conditions étaient idéales. Le temps était toujours froid et sec, et la glace était fiable. Il y avait de nombreux icebergs à Dumont d’Urville autour desquels se trouvait  toujours une piscine, une ouverture sur l’eau libre créée par la réverbération de la lumière sur leur face Nord. Ces trous d’eau étaient toujours fréquentés par une multitude de Manchots Adélie et Empereurs. Les conditions de plongée étaient « faciles » et la seule difficulté résidait dans le courant qui aurait pu nous emmener à la dérive sous la glace… 

Les phoques de Wedell se trouvaient quant à eux le plus souvent sur la banquise au milieu de nulle part, là où Il nous était impossible de faire un trou dans une glace d’un mètre d’épaisseur. La seule solution était de s’immerger dans une faille existante à proximité. Cette faille s’ouvrait et se refermait au rythme de la houle et je n’avais que 12 secondes pour traverser la banquise avant que l’étau ne se referme sur moi. 

« Je n’avais que 12 secondes pour traverser la banquise avant que l’étau ne se referme sur moi » . 

Sous l’eau, le spectacle est toujours aussi fascinant, la glace a pris la couleur verte des algues qui poussent au printemps tandis que les grincements de l’iceberg nous rappellent que le montre est bien vivant. Le monstre bouge et nous parle, à nous de déchiffrer ses messages… 

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 by Didier NOIROT - Subimageryprod.com - Subimagery Productions